12
Nov
09

Run Your Own Race

On November 1st, 2009, I joined 39,999 fellow runners to run the ING NYC Marathon. My reasoning for running the such a marathon was a life long dream of mine. I wanted to see how far I could push myself and whether or not I could stand up to the training and grueling running schedule in order to prepare for the race.  Since most of my training took place during my unemployment, I realized more so than ever that you have to run your own race. This even applies to job hunting. There are people who may be faster and quicker on the race course than me the same way there will be people who may land a job before I do. There are lots of variables that can affect this outcome. For running—you take into consideration factors such as body weight, training regimen, running history, activity level and so on. For job hunting—factors may include, experience, industry knowledge, education, aptitude level, and so on. Thomas Edison said “The three great essentials to achieve anything worthwhile are, first, hard work; second, stick-to-itiveness; third, common sense.”  During my training for the marathon, I worked hard because I wanted to accomplish this goal; I kept up my training schedule even though I felt discouraged because of my job situation and I definitely used common sense while running the race to know that I will not  finish the marathon in 2:25. Although, I didn’t complete the marathon in the time I wanted to, I did finish. That’s the most important take away, I finished! I also look at job hunting the same way, I will get a job! If I work hard, stick-to-it and use common sense, I know it’s just a matter of time before employers start opening their doors to me.

0 Responses to “Run Your Own Race”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

M.A.P.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,099 other followers


