19
Dec
12

Trying to get the monkey off my back pt. 1

He weighs a ton. I am sick of him. I have nicknamed him “Andy”. He will not go away. He started off as a new born but over the past 4 years, he has grown into a full 65 pound adult monkey.  Can you imagine carrying all of that extra weight on your back along with your current weight? You would think I would have lost a couple of pounds so the weight of the monkey would  not seem so heavy. Instead, I gained weight and added more pounds. So with the monkey and my extra weight, I am a hot mess.

 

For 2013, my goal is to get him off of my back. First, I will start small and put him on a diet so he can lose some weight. That will make him manageable as I carry him around. Secondly, I will pass the monkey to someone else. Check out this great article from Harvard Business Review that asks the question, “Who’s Got The Monkey?”. I really do not care who has him just as long as he is not on my back. Lastly, when he shows up (oh he will), I will not let him set up residence. I will make sure of that. I will gladly hand him over to the next able body to carry him around.

4 Responses to “Trying to get the monkey off my back pt. 1”


  1. January 28, 2013 at 8:43 am

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and
    I’m hoping you write once more soon!

    • 2 Michelle A. Patterson
      January 28, 2013 at 9:02 am

      thank you

    • 3 Michelle A. Patterson
      March 11, 2013 at 7:17 pm

      Thank you very much. I would say definitely try out wordpress and test drive it. See how you like it. I love it! There are many others like Blogger and so forth. Test drive them all and pick the one you like best.

  2. March 11, 2013 at 12:57 am

    Great blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

M.A.P.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,099 other followers


