12
Aug
13

The Prusuit of the Ball

Recently, I attended a baseball game. I had amazing seats…10 seats from 1st base. The weather was perfect for an evening game. As I settled into my seat along come two guys who set to the left of me. In about ten minutes, a group of three men and one woman set to the right of me. As the players were being announced, a guy on the right side group announced “I’m going to get me a baseball tonight.” I was like “wow”, He sure is confident. The game begins and along with some fly balls, pop ups and two home runs, no ball has come towards the direction of where I was seating. By the fifth inning, the score was tied and the opposing team was up at bat. The hitter hit the ball and it clearly was a pop up ball in foul territory. However, this one was different. This ball was headed in the direction where I was seated. All the men on the right and both men on my left were up with arms stretched waiting for the ball to descend downward. The guy in the group on the right side of me, the one who made the declaration, actually did catch the ball. However, the ball bounced out of his hand and onto the ground where it rolled under my feet to the guy on the left side of me. He scoops it up and gives his buddy a high five. The man on the right was hollering about how he had the ball in his hands and it bounced out. He was devastated. He was so mad with himself of how he had something that he coveted, and lost it within milliseconds. To further torture himself, the guy on the right, asked the guy on the left, he could take pictures of himself with the ball that he titled, “the ball that got away.” This lead me to an epiphany. How many times have we wanted something so bad and we almost had it, but for some reason, we never did get it or it was within our grasp and something happened which caused us not to get what we wanted? The guy on the left with the ball, after he caught it, took a picture of the ball and continued to enjoy the game. The guy on the right, after taking a photo of the ball he never did catch, he continued to talk about how he almost had the ball and it bounced out of his hand. My aha moment came to me. When you want something so bad it may come to you but you may not be ready for it. Its when you don’t “covet” something, it comes to you in a miraculous way. The attitude of the guy on my left versus the guy on my right were like night and day. The guy on the right came to get something and will leave with nothing. The guy on my left, came with no expectations, and left with something. Sometimes, we have to just let go and let things take its course. We cannot force it or try and will it if it is not meant to be for us.

2 Responses to “The Prusuit of the Ball”


  1. 1 Jenny
    August 12, 2013 at 10:26 am

    Great story…and a good call on the “aha” moment. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

M.A.P.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,412 other followers


