Christian · God · inspiration · jesus · prayer

I’m Coming Out in 2023!

Yes, I’m coming out under the influence of Christ! Oh, you thought it was something else? Perhaps the song by Diana Ross? Here is the link if you feel nostalgic and want to listen.

I’m writing about how, in 2023, I will no longer be ashamed to be a Christian. This means that I will no longer pursue career prospects that are not in line with God’s intention for my life. I shall seek God’s face and submit my life to His authority to guide, direct, correct, and inspect. In addition, I will launch a new podcast with my sisters called “Under the Influence of Christ™,” in which we will explore subjects affecting women of faith daily.

I’m thrilled that I can now be my most genuine self without feeling compelled to be someone else. I am a Christian who strives to live according to the teachings of Jesus Christ. No, I am not perfect because I fail daily (Rom 3:23), but I would rather live under the influence of Christ than anywhere else.

3 thoughts on “I’m Coming Out in 2023!

  1. Hi Michele! I’ve been wondering how you’ve been doing. I took an anti-racism class and mentioned our encounter at La Pastaria in Summit. It has weighed heavy on my mind because we never discussed the incident. People in my anti racist group said I should endeavor to do better (too much time has passed since that incident). I’m not sure I agree, so I do want to apologize for not speaking up. I hope you can forgive me. Love, your friend Judi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Judi,
      How are you? Happy New Year! Thank you for your note. Yes, I can definitely forgive you. You know, I totally forgot about that incident. When you grow up knowing that you are judged based on your skin color, you go inward and block out all negative aspects of discrimination. To this day, people still believe that discrimination does not exist. I think you said something when the incident happened, so I applaud your courage then and now. Thank you. Love your forever friend, Michelle.

      Like

      1. Hi Michele,
        I’m doing fine. Have been bouncing around since I left Wiley. Started working at the Summit Free Public Library but resigned when one board member wanted me fired because I accidentally posted using the library account a response to a post re a Republican candidate. From there I went to the UPS store but I couldn’t face another Christmas season so I resigned and am now substitute teaching in New Providence-however I have COVID so can’t work for the next week. Hopefully my test tomorrow will come back negative. Annoyed because I went 3 years without COVID and am boosted (twice). Gordon is sick as well. I probably brought it into the house. Anyway life is, I guess, what you make of it. I’m well enough and generally happy. Looks like you’ve found your path and I’m very happy for you. Yes, lots of denial about racism and I had a woman on FB say that a noose is indicative of racism (because of Black folks) but it was specifically to hang Mike Pence so I just blocked her and moved on. Take care. Love, Judi

        Like

Leave a comment