Christian · education · God · inspiration · monkey · prayer · Uncategorized · Values · winning

Getting the Monkey off my Back, the finale

I have previously published parts 1 and 2 here and here, respectively, of this saga. Well, this saga ended on December 31, 2022. In my previous posts, I blamed Andy, the monkey, for being on my back and weighing me down. Disturbingly, it wasn’t Andy; it was me!

I have been liberated from my former self in the past three months and feel fantastic. I am thankful that I could confront, accept, and replace it. The “it” is me getting out of my own way. Trying to cling to the past and being unable to let it go. I was avoiding taking responsibility for “it,” so I projected my feelings onto “it” and gave “it” a name.

I no longer have trouble letting go of my past now that I am stepping into my purpose. That whatsoever God has called me to do, I will do. One of my closest friends informed me several weeks ago that this road has always been mine; all I had to do was let go and let God. This makes me think of “Your Name Brings Healing to Me,” a song by the Planetshakers that I used to sing at Christ Church in New Jersey. I am not bound by me, Andy, or anything or anyone else; I am completely liberated. “So if the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed,” says John 8:36. Every day, I wake up and thank God for my freedom.

Leave a comment